PT Cruiser Owner Complaints
PT Cruiser burns oil
*Is a NEW Chrysler PT Cruiser that consumes at least a quart or more of oil every 1,000 miles acceptable?
*Ferman Automotive Service Dept. stated that one quart of oil consumed every 1,000 miles  is acceptable oil consumption

*Does your Chrysler suffer from a excessive oil consumption problem they do not know how to repair?
*
Important Note: All vehicles with the same or similar engine as the PT Cruiser may suffer from the same oil consumption problems
*Click HERE to Bookmark PT Cruiser Problems*

Home

My PT Cruiser Story

PT Cruiser Problems
Service Record


PT Cruiser Owner Complaints

PT Cruiser Links
(All links below open in new window)
Free Lemon Check
(Found Under Free Services)

PT Cruiser Problems
Yahoo Group

Subscribe to PTCruiserProblems
Powered by autos.groups.yahoo.com

Chrysler Problems Sites
Daimler Chrysler Problems
Don't Buy One 2.7 liter Eng
Chrysler Launders Lemons
Chrysler Resells Lemons
Chrysler Problems Page

Daimler Chrysler Issues
Mitsubishi Sucks


Places to file a complaint
The Center for Auto Safety

National Highway Traffic Admin
FTC Consumer Protection
Your State Attorney General
Chrysler Corporation



Additional Useful Sites
Recalls & TSB's

(PT Listed as Chrysler Truck)
Steer Clear of Lemons

A/C Odor Solution that should be performed by dealer
PT Cruizer.com
PT Do it Yourself

PT Cruiser Links

PT Cruiser Owner Complaints

PT Cruiser Year 2006
PT Cruiser Model
Standard

Found your website the other day in search for the answer to the problem your website talks about.  I am a service manager of a small copier company in Chatsworth, CA.  We currently have 5 2006 PT Cruisers, basic model, that we use for fleet service vehicles.  We leased the vehicles through Fleet Enterprise Rental program and had all maintenance include.  Average monthly mileage is less than 1500-2000 miles.  After a disagreement with the Fleet Service Program Manager about switching the vehicles to synthetic motor we took the vehicles of the program and performed the oil changes ourselves.  I too found on all five vehicles when the initial change from convention to synthetic motor oil that all 5 vehicles with less than 10000 miles all had at least to 1 quart missing at the time of the there oil changes (3000 miles).  Fleet required oil changes at 3000 miles.  After changing to Amsoil brand synthetic oil (0w-30), which they rate 1 year or 15000 miles with the use of there high end oil filter or changing other manufactures at the 3-5000 mark during the 15000 miles.  Each and every vehicles when taken on long driver, i.e. over 60-100 miles continues driving, would loose anywhere from a quart to quart of oil, worst being when one tech drove from LA to Vegas the vehicles required one full quart of synthetic oil when he arrived and on the return in LA and the vehicles had less than 12000 miles on it.  There are no visible indications of leaks, as we even left a vehicle sitting for a day with a white mat under it.  There appears to be no contaminate with the oil when changed it just simple vanishes.  The engine runs well but this loss of oil will cause a problem I know.  We have done one transmission oil and filter change, also converting it to Amsoil Universal ATF and it showed sign of a lot of stress in the form of metal powder and few shavings.  This was done at around 38000 miles.  I know this is slightly above the manufacture recommendation but still.  There has also been problem with tire pressure; the tires seem to loose air much more frequently than I have seen on other vehicle.  I know the vehicle has a heavy body and it may just be an issue with the tires but on at the factory.  Brakes, these units have the worst brakes I have ever seen on any vehicle!  3 of the 5 needed brake jobs done on the front before 12000 miles, one at 8500 and one had a caliper that failed under warranty at 6500 miles.  Two of the three had major rotor damage.  Found out from a brake repair facility that the router size had been increase for 23 mills to 26 mills to reduce heat, this was wearing out the pad prematurely.  One vehicle does have the new style install and I will say it did make a big difference.  At $350 a piece this was the majority of our repair cost.  I now have the drivers have a brake inspection done every 8000 miles to prevent rotor failure.  This though does not always work.  Two vehicles are on their 3 brake job in less than 35000 miles!  This vehicle under any other QA program would have failed!  I have already instructed the owner of my company when the lease is up not to take the $1 buy out.  I believe that the vehicles would most likely encounter huge maintenance costs after the 50000 mile mark.

-
Jason

PT Cruiser Year 2001
PT Cruiser Model Limited Edition

 I just bought the car, used, from a local dealer. I checked the oil level after purchase and found it was a 1\2 qt low. After checking a week and 400 miles later the level was at the add oil level. After adding a qt, I checked again after 5oo miles and found it was about 1\2 qt low.

-BW
PT Cruiser Year 2002
PT Cruiser Model Limited Edition

I purchased my PT Cruiser on June 22, 2002 with 30 miles on it. On July 9, 2002 the problems started happening and haven't stopped. 7/9/02 The "No Fuse" light went on. Took it to the dealer and they couldn't find anything wrong, so I needed to leave it with them. I fought for a loaner/rental until the problem was fixed. Turned out a wire in the drivers visor was twisted. The fuel pump recall was next in September of 2002. Then for a routine oil change in December I complained that the drivers side seat was nearly impossible to recline. The handle needed to be pulled up by a very strong person in order for it to work. They lubeed the track and never fixed the recliner handle. 17,000 miles later in August, 2003 When backing up there was a shuttering that was happening for a couple of months. They found shift error codes and replaced the transmission. Also needed to replace the breaks. Next, the remote for the key stopped working intermittently. Early in 2004 I started hearing a click coming from the front drivers side, mostly when I was at a stop and then made a turn. Took it in in May...and the dealer found nothing. Also at that visit they found the drive belts to be dry and cracked this car had only 29,000 miles on it. The click continued happening more and more for months. Woke up to go to work on August 12, 2004 with 33,000 miles on the car, heard a different kind of click and it wouldn't start. Tow truck couldn't started it with a jump and took it to the dealer. This time the starter froze. I was still complaining about the click noise in the front. 15 days later while driving with my daughter, I made a turn, heard the famous click and a crunch...this time the car wouldn't go. Called the dealer (I was around the corner) the service department had just closed. The person who answered the phone was very rude and not at all helpful. Call the tow truck again and went over to the dealer. Dropped off the car. This time the front axel was broken. They replaced it under the warranty. While my warranty period was coming to an end, I felt like I needed to make some decisions. Whether it was an extended warranty or get rid of the car. On Friday September 3, 2004 I was run off the road, hit a cement pole, broke a couple of ribs, burned by the airbag when it went off, and the car was totalled. I guess I don't have to make any decisions about that car anymore. I wish it wasn't so frustrating, because I really loved that car.

-S
PT Cruiser Year 2003
PT Cruiser Model Standard

The PT Cruiser Oil Consumption Problem I have a 2003 PT Cruiser It has been in the Dealership 8 times in 16 months.4 times was a electrical dash lights & windows not working and 4 times for the Oil Consumption problem Oil builds up on the spark plugs and they will clean off the spark plugs & cap then send me on my way or try to charge me $300-$400 for anything that they can do to charge me for something totally different now my car has 49,000 miles and their just trying to pass the buck to not fix my problem until my warranty is up.

-RS
PT Cruiser Year 2002
PT Cruiser Model Limited Edition

Approximately two weeks ago my 2002 PT Cruiser started making a "chirping" noise in the engine. It seemed to be running fine, so I waited about a week and called for a service appt. Before I made it to the service dept. later in the week, it began shifting roughly and then wouldn't go into gear at all. To make a long story short, the torque converter was somehow malfunctioning and putting metal shavings into the transmission. Of course the car has 43,000 miles on it, so my warranty will not cover the repairs. I just picked it up today - after having to rent a car for five days while mine was being fixed - and the whole repair cost $2500. Needless to say, I'm not real pleased. I wondered if this was a common problem with PTs. The service manager assured me that they hadn't seen any 2002 PTs with transmission problems, but I'm sceptical.

-LH
PT Cruiser Year? 2001
PT Cruiser Model? Limited Edition

I purchased the 2001 Cruiser used as a "Certified Pre-owned Vehicle" from a dealership in late Nov. 2003 with 52, 256 miles on it. I saw the oil light come on a few weeks ago as I rounded a corner and then go out. I decided to check the oil and I was 3qts. low with only putting on 4,000 miles. Two weeks later I checked the oil again and was down 2qts. and had only put about 400 miles on it since I added the other 3qts. I stopped at the dealership were I purchased it and they made no claim that they were aware of any problems or recalls. I just changed the oil and will now track how much oil I need to add. I'm glad to hear I am not alone on this problem. I also noticed there is no oil leaking on the ground or engine nor is it coming out of the exhaust. I have a 5 speed manual trans.

-G
We have a PT 2001 with about 42k on it. It has used oil since new, and I have tried a variety of oils and viscosities and do not see a change. First service manager said that isn't normal, bring it in when it is a qt low so we can document consumption. Of course I was out of town at the time it was low again, and when I finally went back there was a different service manager and he gave me the qt/1000 miles is normal routine. The consumption varies a bit but generally averages about a qt/1000 miles.

-JK
PT Cruiser Year 2003
PT Cruiser Model Standard

My husband bought my Cruiser for my anniversary present in Jan. of '04. Although was a 2003, it was purchased as a new car. It went in for the first service call in April. After I got it back, it started to shut down when the AC was in use. So far, have come close to 3 accidents in it. Has been at Palm Chrysler/Subaru in Gainesville, FL for almost 2 weeks now. Service Department manager tried to make me take it back as they say they cannot duplicate the problem, therefore it does not exist. I refused and hung in there and demanded a rental car . . . have managed to hang on to it for 4 days amidst efforts to demand it back and to give me the Cruiser back. As a matter of fact, they did give it back this past Fri. as they said they fixed it by changing the spark plugs. Drove it Fri. night and it was fine. Drove it again on Sat. morning and it shut down again in the middle of a turn into Home Depot. Brought it back on Mon. and they said they would give me a rental car only for one day, as they had orders to fix it in a day. Then they called on Mon. and tried to take the rental car and give me the Cruiser even though they had not fixed it. Have insisted it is a liability to drive it - but they are insisting I get in it and drive it to show them what happens. Although the gentlemen handling the situation in service has been quite accommodating, the Service Manager and the General Manger have suggested that I am lucky that 99% of the operating parts are in sync, as Chrysler is simply not a premium product!!? Have you ever heard of a similar problem to mine? Dealership suggested yesterday that they would try to get Chrysler to buy back the car, but not to my surprise, have not heard a word out of them today!!! Thanks!

-BD
PT Cruiser Year 2002
PT Cruiser Model Limited Edition

My main complaint is regarding the paint quality. My PT is black, but any little pit mark, from road pebbles etc. shows white because (I've been informed) it has white primer underneath. Twice, the car has been egged and it has left two egg-shaped white spots. I am also very disappointed with my mileage. I get 17 mpg in the city and 19 on the highway.

-HM
PT Cruiser Year 2001
PT Cruiser Model Limited Edition

Oil consumption, brought it to the dealer and told me that it was ok, it was normal for that.

-JL
PT Cruiser Year 2001
PT Cruiser Model Limited Edition

The cooling system, car runs hot. replaced low speed fan switch. didn't work. still running hot. fan is not coming on.

-JW
PT Cruiser Year 2002
PT Cruiser Model Limited Edition

Our PT started using oil at 51,000 miles we currently use a quart every oil change and we change our oil at 2400 miles faithfully ever since we bought it. We had the CD player replaced 1 week after buying the car. the front door electric windows grind and drag when you roll them up. We were totally un impressed with the dealership in Simi Valley. At present we experience either real cold air or like it doesn't work. Also the transmission seems to shift hard. At 27000 miles had the fuel pump seal replaced and the brakes checked as the brake light continually stayed on.

-BR
PT Cruiser Year 2001
PT Cruiser Model Limited Edition
I have a grocery list for you of major and minor problems. First...the car has 65K miles on it...50/50 split HWY and City. It is currently at the dealership with a cracked head gasket (2100.00 to repair), a need for a new radiator, and water pump. That's just to start. The car has been making at least 5 different noises emitting from the front end. I have already burned through one set of brakes, and yes it seems as if I have to add oil often. IN addition I have replaced two dashboard bezels for a "crackling" finish. I have an electrical issue with my fog lamps coming on whenever I use my turn signals and now whenever I turn the steering wheel...couldn't turn them off so I had to pull the fuse.

Unfortunately my car is no longer protected under the California Lemon Law because the warranty has expired but I am looking for some recourse. I just can't believe the amount of money I have had to put into this car at this point. Let me know how this goes...

Thanks for setting up the website.

-BH
PT Cruiser Year 2001
PT Cruiser Model Limited Edition

My problem is the wheels are deteriorating and the tires lose air through the resultant holes. The local dealer says it's "normal environmental damage" and they won't do anything. It looks like the car isn't designed to be used in the northeast or anywhere else salt is used on the roads. And I only used it for one winter, not for the three winters I've owned it.

-C
PT Cruiser Year 2003
PT Cruiser Model Turbo
I purchased this 2003 PT Cruiser GT Turbo on 6/30/2003. Taking the car home I noticed bad vibration at 55 mph. I took it back to the dealer on 7/1/2003 I was told that two tires were bad, the tires were ordered and installed on the car.

On 12/29/03 I took the car back for vibration at 30 mph. They said balance and rotate would fix it. And they balanced and rotated the tires.

On 6/8/04 I took it back AGAIN for vibration. I was charged $43.65 for another balance and rotate. Three weeks later I took it in AGAIN for VIBRATION! I was told that again I had two bad tires and that Chrysler would cover 100% of one tire I 60% of the second. My balance would be $139.00 +tax. I checked Goodyear prices at www.goodyeartires.com and the price of that tire is $205 my 40% would be $82. They want to charge me 40% of $350 for a $205 tire!!!!! To me that is THEFT!

All of this occurred within 1 year and 12,000 miles of purchase. I can not get anything resolved. I ask if Chrysler is using bad OEM tires, I am told no they are very good tires. So I say if you are using good tires, it is the car causing the tires to go bad. They say I have no proof that that it is the car causing the tires to go bad.

I called Chrysler customer service and got nowhere. I told them that I was very upset and no longer even wanted the car. They said that I have not had enough warranty work done to justify a buy back. I asked what about work that I had to pay for. I was told that did not count, only warranty work. This is bad business.

-EG
PT Cruiser Year 2001
PT Cruiser Model Standard

OIL CONSUMPTION!!!!!!
2 Heads! 2 Clutches! Cylinders! A/C fan! Window squeals! Bad smells in A/C!
BRAKE light comes on! ETC, the list goes on!

-MM
PT Cruiser Year 2003
PT Cruiser Model Turbo

I bought a used turbo with 11,000 miles and the transmission gave out on me after 3 days!

-GM
PT Cruiser Year 2001
PT Cruiser Model Limited Edition

Yes,
it uses oil and a lot of gas. besides the little things fixed under warranty; peeling around the radio, front drivers window slipping down, front right window squeaking loudly, replacing the rear window controls, etc. No longer under warranty, I have gone through three windshields all cracking from the same place, top middle of car in three years, the cooling fan motor went out, dealer only part, over $400 to fix, the planetary gear exploded this week, they want $3,500 to fix. upon asking around, it seems to be an unknown problem with many Chrysler models. Know of three people in two days that had the transmission replaced under warranty with in the first two years. Mine lasted three, darn it! Called a transmission shop in town today, they said they have had to fix MANY PT's due to the planetary gear exploding!

-K
PT Cruiser Year 2001
PT Cruiser Model Touring Edition

I am currently going through Oil Consumption problems with my PT Cruiser and just had the Valve Cover replaced under warranty. On a recent drive from Oklahoma to Louisiana approximately 630 miles I had to add 1/2 a quart of oil each way. Currently I am undergoing the oil consumption test with my local Chrysler Dealer...slow...painful. I also think that Chrysler is crazy to pawn off 1 quart per 1,000 miles as acceptable. If you need more of my vehicle history, please contact me.

-B
I bought a new PT in march... 1st oil change almost a quart low, mentioned to service depart but they blew if off... 2nd oil change coming up will be at least a qt. low// I called Chrysler corp. and filed a complaint yesterday but this is only the beginning and there's no reason for any new car to burn oil period, what will it do with several thousand on it, the tech said it was normal/// my butt normal, I know several owners that burn no oil at all. Anyway would appreciate any info on how to document and thanks for your web site and will spread the word.

-UJ
PT Cruiser Year 2001
PT Cruiser Model Limited Edition

Mine also has the foul smell with the A/C. It smells like vinegar at first then goes away after being on a short time. No problems at all with excessive oil consumption.

-SP
PT Cruiser Year 2001
PT Cruiser Model Limited Edition

The first time I drove my PT on the highway, I noticed vibration. When I took it to the dealer to complain, they said it was defective tires. When I took it to Goodyear, they said it was poor balancing. After 15 times of getting my car serviced for various problems, I was told by Chrysler representatives that if I didn't like the service I was getting, then I should take them to court because they are not going to do anything about my problems. It has been 3.5 years and now I go to court to settle my differences. But recently, the car broke down on the highway and is no longer drivable. I was suckered by Don Jordan Chrysler and I'm paying for a worthless car that doesn't work. I may be a big fool for trusting the people at Don Jordan Chrysler in Beachwood OH, but they have proved to be the biggest con artist in the world for selling people junk cars and refusing to fix them...

Thanks,
-TC

PT Cruiser Year 2001
PT Cruiser Model Touring Edition

We have the exact same problems with the stinky AC and loosing quarts of oil way too soon. Our Hondas are always still in the normal range when they go in for their 3000 mile changes. My husband has to give the Cruiser quarts of oil b/w changes. Our dealership denies any problems or leaks with the car...

-L&A C.
I just wanted to know if you know of others that have had problems with
tires? My daughter's PT which was purchased new 2 years ago has to have
tires replaced about every 30k miles. The service man here says it is
because of "the way the car is built" ??? The tires are rotated as needed,
but they still wear out long before the tire warranty states they should.
It runs hot and no one can find the coolant leak. My daughter has to make
sure she has coolant with her at all times. The steering also suddenly
begins to pull VERY hard - usually to the right with no warning. When this happens she gets to the service guy again and he realigns the best
he can, etc., and just says "You will need new tires soon". The car has
always been serviced on time. It was serviced this past Saturday and today,
she got in it and when she cranked it she said it sounded horrible - "like
metal grating" and was afraid to drive it. I had to call a wrecker to come
get it and take to the service station. The guy told us he thought the
engine mounts and struts were weak a while back and now we fear they may
have broken? I got hosed when I bought it, paying almost 26k for the 2001
limited edition model. It has cost a small fortune to keep it in what I
thought was safe driving shape. We have taken it in for all the recalls,
etc. I'd like to try to sell the piece of crap, but I doubt I could get
much for it. I've never been so disappointed in a vehicle in my life. What
a shame.

-AM
PT Cruiser Year? 2003
PT Cruiser Model? Turbo

MY map sensor has already gone out leaving me stranded. That was about 17,000 miles now at 20,000 my power steering pump has gone out. Very dissatisfied with dealer they have to order the part and tell me they cannot put me in a different car until they fix it.

-CS
PT Cruiser Year 2002
PT Cruiser Model Limited Edition

There is a foul smell being emitted from my A/C unit. Dealer states I may need to have them inject something into the dryer, which they will gladly charge me for. this doesn't seem fair.

-SZ
PT Cruiser Year 2004
PT Cruiser Model Limited Edition

PT idles rough and shakes and rumbles at idle. Tachometer flickers up and down while this is going on. Dealer states this is normal for 5 speed transmission and vehicle is throwing no error codes. Why would a brand new vehicle idle rough and the manufacture states this is normal?

-L

PT Cruiser Year 2002
PT Cruiser Model Limited Edition

Please note I have a friend who works foe a Chrysler dealer as a mechanic. The company has know of this problem since 2001. And he told me the known cause of it. Something about the modern equivalent of the PC valve system. And they have a fix for it. There is also according to him a vanishing coolant problem. And in the fall of 2001 no known cause. < I haven't asked him since then. MY PROBLEM IS WITH THE STEERING. The steering wheel rocks back and forth stating at less that 3k in mileage and the problem comes and goes. When I to it to the dealer. His theory claimed it was bent rims . BS I check them with a dial indicator and .005 T.R.I. is not going to cause this . Recently I noticed when it happens Applying pressure on the steering wheel. It goes away or is greatly diminished. THIS MAKES ME START TO THINK THE PROBLEM IS IN THE STEERING BOX.

Sincerely,

-DLE
PT Cruiser Year 2001
PT Cruiser Model Touring Edition

Engine overheated, cracked head and bent valves. dealer installed new head and it happened again 3 weeks later.

-LR
PT Cruiser Year 2003 Turbo GT
PT Cruiser Model Turbo

I picked up my PT cruiser on DEC. 31 2002
My 2003 Turbo GT has 36,175 miles. The last two oil changes, it was one quart low. Lucky I ran across this website or else I would not have known of this problem. What do I do next?

-G
PT Cruiser Year 2001
PT Cruiser Model Touring Edition

 My Cruiser's engine overheated and cut out whilst driving slowly through town, no oil light came on, and now I am told that the engine needs to be replaced since it apparently ran out of oil. $4,000 plus cost to me!

So not only does the car lose oil as you say, but the Oil light never came on. The Chrysler mechanic admitted that the oil light wasn't on when he ran it there, but that that was the problem behind the engine failure....

-LA
PT Cruiser Year 2003
PT Cruiser Model Standard

My PT started burning oil between the 10000 mile and 15000 mile mark. The last oil change it had used a quart of oil over 5000 miles where it did not do this between the first two oil changes. Also the air conditioner went out completely at about 7100 miles.

-RF
PT Cruiser Year 2001
PT Cruiser Model Choose One

Mine goes through oil (I don't know that it actually burns it, though) at the rate of approximately 1 qt every thousand miles or so. Get the odor thing as well, plus the wishbone has failed; about that the parts people at the dealership said the bushings are known to fail and they are "now being made with a lot more steel in them than they were."

-JN
PT Cruiser Year 2002
PT Cruiser Model Limited Edition

I've bought my LTD PT Cruiser new. I bought it in CO, but moved to DE 10/03. 2 mos after I was in DE I started having starting problems. I've had to towed 4 times due to this. 1st time they replaced a starter. 2nd time it started on the lot after being towed. 3rd time they replaced the battery. 4th time it started on the lot after being towed. I'm at my wits end. I had no problem with the car in CO, only here in DE. The not starting doesn't follow any certain pattern, it can be the 1st start of the day, when the car has been running for a while, when it's very cold out, or even raining, no set pattern. This is my only vehicle, and it's been at the Chrysler dealership for service for almost a total of 30 days. Any ideas?

-KM
PT Cruiser Year 2002
PT Cruiser Model Limited Edition

I took my car in Oct of 2003 and told the service dept. at the jeep eagle Chrysler Plymouth in Ontario what my car was doing . I told the service advisor that the car was hesitating and staling out. He told me that it needed a tune-up . That day I had the red service done which is recommended at 30,000 miles I had 31284 miles. The red service calls for Inspect & bring to specification levels . Also to perform the following oil change replace oil filter lubricate chassis install corrosive pad to battery terminals, inspect & adjust brakes .rotate tires, replace air filter ,replace spark plugs, replace fuel filter ,scope & adjust engine , adjust engine timing adjust engine idle, adjust choke, Inspect distributor cap, wires & rotor , service transfer case, service throttle body & road test the car. I also had the cooling system . I Paid $492.46 . When I went to go pick up the car I Ask the young man if he could tell me if I got my tires rotated , said he could tell. So I drove the car home. about a week later the car started to hesitate & pull. It's still doing the same thing, but now the car is completely turning off. If I' am on the freeway and going about 60 the car will pull so hard ,that it feel like the car is going to turn off. once I get off the freeway the car will start to hesitate and sometime it will turn off. so last week I took the car back, and spoke to David the manager advisor & told him the problems I was having with the car .I walk in there with all my maintenance papers. I told him the last time that I was I had the red service done. I wasn't very happy with them. I told him that my tires didn't get rotated, If he could show me on the paper where they got rotated, he could. he said that I should have gotten a dealer recommended maintenance paper , didn't get one .He gave me one ,didn't need one, to late. Also told he that I got the cooling System service, and the levels on the cooling system were very low. don' you think that if I got the cooling system service the the levels would be were their suppose to be, again didn't say again. I also told him about the problem I was having with the car again . how it was staling out on me and how hard it pulls . I ask him if the car got put on a scope would they fine the problem, he said not necessity it would not show up, I don't understand , how is could be . Isn't that what its for, to see if there is a problem with the car . that's if they put it on the scope at all. It also said that the car would be road tested. If the car was road tested they would fine the problem. the car was not road tested because when I left the car there ,the car had 31284 miles . when I pick-up the car it had the same miles on it , I know that the car didn't get a road test. I wasn't called to let me know that the car was ready ,I had to call them. I call them at 6:00 p.m. when I got there I look at the paper it said the car was ready at 16:04, took the car in at 8:45 a.m. If the car is ready they should call you to let you know ,people need there cars. That day David did call me back , to let me know they could not fine anything wrong with the car , that it was not hesitating or pulling or turning off. said that he hope it would not give a problem if it did to call him. So I call this morning to speak to him , he wasn't there on vacation. so I spoke to someone there , I told him the problem that I was having have, the car was pulling , hesitating & turning off . I ask him if it could be the kill- switch he said that would have nothing to due with the car, then I ask him could it be electrical or could it be the fuel pump , said it could be anything from A to Z , told me to bring it wed and they would look at it . Hope that you can help me with my car problem.

Thank you
,
-YM
PT Cruiser Year 2001
PT Cruiser Model Limited Edition

FIRST A QUESTION---WHAT IS THE AVERAGE MILES BRAKE PADS SHOULD LAST? The power steering line under the radiator area is unprotected and should be run in a different area. I punctured mine on a curb stop in a parking lot. now I never let the front end come near a curb stop. I reported the design error to DOT July 2003 and have heard nothing PS--no power steering over $200 to replace hose.

-HD


PT Cruiser Year 2001
PT Cruiser Model Touring Edition

When I purchased my PT cruiser. It had 17,500 miles on at 30,500.It developed a oil leak, oil is running down the back side of the motor. I took it to the dealer, they advised it was probably a valve cover gasket. They put some dye in the oil, while ordering the gasket. The valve cover gasket was change, thought all was OK, at 32,000 miles oil leak reappeared took it back to the dealer was advised the head gasket had to be changed when I got it back from that it was leaking worse than ever, took it back to the dealer with about with 32,500 miles on they said they tore it down again and the head gasket had a neck in, was told they replaced it again all seemed okay, until I had 38,500 mile on it, oil leak reappeared took it back to the dealer was advised, There was little they could do as the warranty had run out. I changed the oil sender myself thinking, it possibly could be leaking, but it wasn't. I e-mailed and then was called by a supervisor at the Chrysler Corporation, advise them of my problem I am waiting for their decision. If they can help me with this problem was wondering if anyone else had this type of oil leak would like to hear from them, if they got it solved.

Thank you,
-CJ
PT Cruiser Year 2002
PT Cruiser Model Standard

I was using a quart about every 2,000 miles now it seems it is about every 1500 miles. have not talked to dealer about this, but have complained about rough idle but dealer could not "reproduce problem"

-SZ
PT Cruiser Year 2002
PT Cruiser Model Limited Edition

My vehicle has an original warranty and an extended warranty purchased for a substantial additional cost at time of vehicle purchase. MY TRANSMISSION WENT AND NEEDED REPLACEMENT approximately 3 weeks prior to my engine needing replacement now. I brought my car to the same dealer for both repairs. I had noticed an unusual amount of oil consumption and kept adding oil as required. I brought it into the dealer for diagnosis. When I was told that I needed my engine replaced right after just having my transmission replaced I was extremely shocked . I was told that it would be covered by my warranty. I waited to hear from the dealer regarding the coverage. I was told that I needed to provide them with ONE YEAR of maintenance records ( by Ryan Helquist) I dug up the records they required and presented them to the dealer as requested. Then I was told they wanted ANOTHER years worth of records. I feel like they are trying to get out of replacing my engine at their cost. I HAVE THE WARRANTY, EXTENDED WARRANTY, AND THE RECORDS THEY ORIGINALLY REQUESTED. MY CAR IS STILL IN THE SHOP 2 MONTHS LATER WITH NO REPAIR DONE. I am trying to locate the other records they demanded but I really feel this is not fair as they only requested one years worth originally. They can tell the vehicle was maintained. They have the MOST RECENT records. Obviously the problem did not start until recently. If the problem existed before then why did they not notice the problem when they test drove my car during the testing of the new transmission they put in? They are supposed to check EVERYTHING that needs to be fixed, that is giving problems when it is brought in with a problem. The shop called yesterday to say they want to start charging me for storage at $25.00 a day! Can you believe that! I have been EXTREMELY INCONVENIENCED! I have lost out on work due to loss of transportation. I have had to cancel a long awaited vacation. I have not had transportation for two months. They were extremely rude and unhelpful at this dealership.

IF YOU GO TO PTCRUISERPROBLEMS.COM YOU CAN SEE THAT OTHER PEOPLE HAVE HAD SIMILAR EXPERIENCES WITH THEIR 2002 PT CRUISERS! This is OBVIOUSLY a KNOWN problem yet they are refusing to fix it and are giving me a very, very, hard time when I try to get them to honour my warranty. My car was less then 2 years old when all these problems occurred. I do a fair amount of driving and probably have more miles then a lot of other 2002 cruisers so I can only assume as the mileage creeps up on other 2002 cruisers there will be more and more engine/oil problems known. I want this fixed under my warranty now! I am tired of waiting . I call them and they don't return my calls. I have visited in person and the manager I need to see is not there. THE MANAGER HAS NOT CALLED ME OR SPOKEN TO ME EVEN THOUGH I HAVE VISITED AND LEFT HIM VOICE MAIL MESSAGES. I have even called the Chrysler Consumer hotline and complained. I don't think I deserve to suffer for what OBVIOUSLY is a CHRYSLER defect and known problem. PLEASE help me get my car fixed under the warranty as it should be. I REALLY need my car back and have been inconvenienced and hassled enough.

THANK YOU!

-SA

PT Cruiser Year 2003
PT Cruiser Model Standard

New Sept. 03 done 1583 miles and used half a pint of oil the dealer told me today that everything was fine pts use oil but I've not known a new engine to use oil like that.

-DL
PT Cruiser Year 2002
PT Cruiser Model Touring Edition

We have a sudden acceleration problem (intermittent) that the dealer has been unable to find in 3 visits. When backing up, with your foot on the brake, the idle will increase to where you feel the car will start to move on its own - without touching the gas! It happens with, or without the air on. It is now starting to happen when going forward. I have not heard of anyone else with this problem. I am thankful we do not have the oil problem that you are having. We love the car, but feel that this is a safety issue and it is reported to the dealer at each oil change. Any suggestions would be helpful. Our mileage is only about 18K.

-C
PT Cruiser Year 2002
PT Cruiser Model Standard

Oil consumption problems - have lawyer since mechanics are unreliable. Emergency brake doesn't hold. Was told to buy a kit to help it. Have to pull extra hard at very top to hold. Reverse acts like it's seating but car rolls forward sometimes. Was told to bring the car in just when it was doing it because they could never find anything wrong. The air conditioning absolutely stinks! They won't/can't fix. Are preparing for court at this time. Any info you could give us would be appreciated. Will keep you informed.

-M&B
PT Cruiser Year 2001
PT Cruiser Model Limited Edition

Mine has two problems. The first appears to be the oil consumption issue. I was told by Chrysler technicians that the consumption was within factory specifications, also. The second is with the ABS/Traction Control. It doesn't work in the winter. The "Traction Off" light is on continuously with the the ABS warning light, especially after heavy snow. Again, I was told this was per factory specifications. I am going back to GM for my next car...or maybe something foreign where some credibility exists...certainly not to Daimler Benz.

-DT
PT Cruiser Year 2002
PT Cruiser Model Limited Edition

I took my pt to shop under warrantee for hole in steering pump in winter. The filled up fluid and said cold weather may be the cause. howl went away for 3 months. came back this time the steering wheel would also shake now and then took it back they replaced the pump. I put lots of miles on the care and by my 2nd year hit 40,000 now its a little over 2.5 years old and pump is howling again and this time the car is out of warrantee. Bet it will cost an arm and a leg to fix now that I have to pay for it.

-SN
PT Cruiser Year 2001
PT Cruiser Model Touring Edition

The dashboard turns off while driving, all the warning lights turn on. A secondary but related problem is not being able to start the car. When I turn the key the car does not attempt to start. the car has been at dealership more than 10 times for approximately 8 weeks still no resolution. The customer assistance center is the absolute worst. The people are rude and uncaring. The dealership much of the same.

-VM
PT Cruiser Year? 2002
PT Cruiser Model? Limited Edition

I have a PT Cruiser that should be renamed a POS Cruiser. Since I bought this vehicle new 2 yrs ago, I have experienced more problems with it than the previous 3 new vehicles (all Chrysler) put together. I really love the car, but the reliability of it really is very very poor. The first episode I had with it involved the catalytic converter on the exhaust. The car would lose power on uphill. I took it to the dealer I bought it from twice and the dealer where I was then currently living 3 times. They could not find the problem. I told them both the first time I took it in that the thing felt like a plugged or plugging catalytic converter. On the 3rd and final time I took it to the dealer in Ark, I told them to keep the thing until it is right. They brought in an "expert" from Chrysler who could not find the problem either. Finally he said if the owner feels it is a catalytic converter, change it and give it a try. The car ran better than new after they did that. The second episode was in Chicago. I was on assignment there the first 4 months of 2002. My power steering pump started making a horrible whining noise and the power steering was very stiff. A dealership up there replaced the pump after I argued with them that it wasn't just noisy it was tight especially in cold weather. (by the way, I still have a noisy pump anytime the weather is cool). The third thing that happened was back in Arkansas in august I think, I was driving home late one evening and the transmission totally trashed itself. Fortunately for me I have AAA and they towed it to the same dealer that replaced the catalytic converter the previous year. I was glad to find out that my dealer had sold me an extended warranty for 100,000 miles for the drive train only or I would have had to paid for the transmission as the car had 40,000 miles at the time. It still cost me $100.00 but that is better than the estimated $2500.00 it would have been. Now the car has 60,000 miles and the new transmission is leaking trans fluid out at a rate of a quart per 100 miles driving. I have an appointment tomorrow with a dealership in KY where I am currently working to try and resolve this issue. It broke down on me last night when it dumped 4 quarts of trans oil on a 380 mile drive. This car is not mechanically reliable. It is fun car to drive and very unique. It is comfortable for a larger person as I am 6' 3 and weigh in around 240. But it has broke down on me 4 times. I do not recommend this car for a person that drives much.

-GP
PT Cruiser Year 2002
PT Cruiser Model Limited Edition

I still need to take it in to the dealership but I believe my power steering unit is starting to have problems. There are plenty of fluids from visually inspecting it but when the vehicle is cold and I start it up you'll hear a loud whining noise from the car and then it gets louder when I turn the wheel. Once it's been running for a while and is warmed up the noise is gone. Any advice would be good.

-B
PT Cruiser Year 2001
PT Cruiser Model Limited Edition

If possible-I will get you the VIN # on my PT when I can. My dealer has it again- my problem is RPM's going too high and my car is surging. Could cause a possible accident- Whether it is idling or I am driving it and accelerating- it surges- RPM's go way up. Something is wrong and my dealer after 4 attempts still has not been able to fix the problem. They have replaced the computer and many other parts to no avail. I am getting disgusted and anxious. The manager mentioned they do not want me to get in an accident. I asked if they cannot fix my vehicle ( I purchased it new in 2002) what will they do for me? He mentioned a DEAL. I am not sure what to do-try to work with my dealer or go to Chrysler about a lemon law?

-SK
PT Cruiser Year 2001
PT Cruiser Model Limited Edition

The a/c has a funny smell, sour smell when first turned on. Had to have brakes at 29,000 miles, and now the radiator is leaking where the top of the radiator and the main body meet.

-LM
My pt is a 2001 (ordered 4/2000 and delivered 3/2001) it is the base model with a stick shift. At 5000 mi I was getting an average of 300 mi to a tank of gas, now at 32000 mi the same driving I am getting a max of 220 mi to a tank. It has eaten oil since day one! 1 to 2 quarts every 1000 mi. and at 1000 mi after an oil change the oil looks and smells like it has been in there for 10000 miles !!!!!!
Also the hp is not like other pt's, there is a hwy with 7% grade that other pt's will happily go up at 65 mph in 5th with a full passenger load. mine grinds down to 4th on this grade with just me in it ( 3rd with the ac on)!!!

My dealer says the oil consumption is normal.... and blames my poor gas mileage on my driving..... I'm getting better gas mileage with my '87 jeep 4.0l 4x4 Cherokee driving the same routes!

-TL
PT Cruiser Year 2001
PT Cruiser Model Limited Edition

I have had some minor problems through the almost 3 yrs of owning this vehicle. I am the only owner. Bought it new. The biggest problem I have had is the battery failing approx every 10 months. Something is shorting the battery out causing it to be totally useless. They have to replace it with a new one. My dealership has been very good and very co-operative, but I suspect that the root of this problem will not get repaired as it sounds like it is going to be a costly one. I know of 2 other instances of this but I have only just begun researching this. I also have the foul odor problem with the A/C. I thought I was just nuts... but have seen numerous complaints on this one. I have not had a problem with oil consumption. Please feel free to contact me if you need any more info.

Thanks,
-CS
PT Cruiser Year 2001
PT Cruiser Model Limited Edition

I'm losing about a quart every 1,400 miles. Chrysler changed valve cover and PCV valve. No fix. They say it's within spec. Still working on them. 47,000 miles. Now have a miss or hesitation they can't figure out either.

-D
PT Cruiser Year 2001
PT Cruiser Model Limited Edition

Hi Shawn,

I purchased a used PT Cruiser Limited in mid-October with 32,000 kms (20,000 miles). Since it was so new, I didn't bother checking the oil level until I had put on 3,000 kms (1,900 miles). At this point, the oil level was just below minimum on the dipstick. I immediately took it to a dealer, and ended up just adding a litre of oil at that time (they did not mention anything about oil problems to me). I now check the oil level constantly, and it has dropped to 3 diamonds above minimum after only 1,800 kms (1,100 miles). I am taking it back to the dealership again since I am now well aware of the problem...I'll try and keep you updated as things progress.

Best regards,
-KP
PT Cruiser Year 2003
PT Cruiser Model Limited Edition

FRONT VIBRATION RIGHT SIDE BETWEEN 100-120KMH TIRES REPLACED FRONT HALF SHAFTS REPLACED FRONT WHEEL HIGH SPEED ON CAR BALANCE STILL DID NOT CORRECT VIBRATION ALARM AND DOOR LOCKS CYCLE ON THERE OWN. CAR HAS 8764KMS ON IT IS A ONGOING PROBLEM FROM THE BEGINNING. THEY WILL TRY TO CHANGE THE HUB NEXT MY OPINION ON THIS CAR IS A PILE OF JUNK LAST LEMON THAT CHRYSLER WILL EVER SELL TO ME

-R
PT Cruiser Year 2001
PT Cruiser Model Standard

I did notice that my oil pressure light came on at one time, and I checked it. Found no oil on the dipstick. I kind of wondered for a while. I did notice I had a leak, but it was found to be a faulty steering gear. Just recently I put my car in for some custom work, and a week after I got it back my oil light came on. Very low oil. I check it regularly, but I find it very ridiculous for it to consume oil like it has been. Any help in repairing or ideas would be greatly appreciated. I will send my VIN as soon as I get a chance.

-BQ
PT Cruiser Year 2001
PT Cruiser Model Limited Edition

My cruiser seems to be needing too much coolant. there are no signs of leakage, is there anyone that may possibly be having the same problem. it seems that it is just evaporating.

PT Cruiser Year 2001
PT Cruiser Model Limited Edition

Excessive oil consumption and smoke on start-up. Identical to the problems that you have encountered. To date, the dealer replaced the valve cover and gasket. The oil consumption is reduced but not stopped. I will monitor consumption after the next oil change and provide status.

Thanks for all of the information,
-WW
PT Cruiser Year 2001
PT Cruiser Model Limited Edition

Question: I own a 2002 PT cruiser. For the past six months I been going to my dealer. Because while I was driving my car suddenly stop on the middle of the road, I was lucky enough to maneuver to the side of the road.15 minutes later I started the car again and while I was driving the car stop again. So I decide to carried the car to the dealer and they say that was the battery that was giving problems. So they change the battery and the problem continued. So I carried the car back to them and they replaced the Chip in the key and the car was good for 2 days and the problem start again. So this time they replaced the relay (I can't remember the name of the parts). so again the car was good for 6 months and the same problem start again so I carried to them and told them that i don't want that car again because is giving me to much problem and is a danger to myself or and can kill somebody in the road with that car. So this time they say "That really need to find the problem because they! can have me driving a car like that in the road", so couple of days ago they (the dealers) and they told me that they found the problem "they say that the need to replaced the Computer in the PT CRUISER. What do you think I Should do?

Thank you for you quick response.
-JR
PT Cruiser Year 2001/ FIRST YEAR PRODUCTION
PT Cruiser Model Standard

It has consumed massive amounts of oil from the start. However I have not complained about this issue to anyone. Fortunately I purchased the top of the line extended warranty from Chrysler at a cost of over $1000 to me. At 42,000 miles right after an oil change the motor blew up. The dealer acted as if it were my fault for not changing the oil according to their schedule. The last oil change was 15,000 miles previous. I reminded him that I had the warranty and that it covered everything. 1 week later he called me to tell me that as I was " A GOOD CUSTOMER " the manager was going to replace the motor at no charge. It is now two weeks later and still no car!! I will let you know the outcome.

Sincerely,
-M
PT Cruiser Year? 2002
PT Cruiser Model? Touring Edition

MY transmission has been repaired 3 times in the last 6 months....total of 21 days in the shop. Each time they tell me it is fixed. Starting to have more problems now. I'll send you my VIN number later today.

-BB

PT Cruiser Year 2002
PT Cruiser Model Limited Edition

I did an oil change and took a 300 mile trip, came home and checked the oil and it was over a third down. Thought I didn't allow enough for the filter. Topped it off and checked it again at around the same mileage and it was down again. Took it to the dealer, asked him if he had any complaints in this area, he said no. I asked him if he ever got a notice on 1qt. in 1000 miles is normal, he said YES. go figure. We are in the process of the bull shit oil consumption test. Right now I am at 360 miles and about 1/3 quart low. My wife does not drive often, we have had the car a year and 4 months and have 6566 miles on it as of now. I have an old 88 GMC pickup 4.3 liter with 138,000 on it and gets better than this. There is no sign of smoke or oil in the pcv line. I just know I'm going to get screwed by the dealer before this is over. Its a shame, my wife loves it.

Thanks for listening
-EB
PT Cruiser Year 2003
PT Cruiser Model Limited Edition

Very poor gas mileage in town. 12.4mpg
my 1990 camaro with big engine did better. Dealer has no clue.

-BE
PT Cruiser Year 2001
PT Cruiser Model Limited Edition

 just happen to stumble on to your website it got my attention. I am concern because I too own a PT Cruiser. My A/C is also giving out a mildew smell. I didn't pay attention to it cause I thought it was from what the dealers use to clean out the car to sell. I also have squeaky brakes. I just bought the PT two weeks ago and this does not sound so good (especially the story with your PT. What do you think I could do to prevent the potential problems?

-ST

PT Cruiser Year 2001
PT Cruiser Model Dream Cruiser

My car overheated right outside of a goodyear/gemini dealer and they could not get the fan motor assembly to act up so they said I needed a thermostat at the very least, replaced for $168, 3 days later car overheats again I go to Central Florida Chrysler dealership and as I am driving there AC off to keep from overheating, my rear pass. window will not go up (broken regulator) Estimated at $370 to fix!!! I live in Florida and it is 90 degrees most of the time, I do not roll the windows down ever! They fixed my fan motor assembly and charged $567 which I bargained down to $529(thieves)(car mileage approx 47000, a week later I hit a patch of water and lose control hit a curb and bend three chrome rims (Do PT's have steering probs too?). $604 per rim plus three new tires, car out for approx two weeks. Two weeks later my car overheats again! Chrysler dealer say hey cars break at 30k or 40k miles these days says my thermostat was bad (they probably melted it while they diagnosed this for $40. Goodyear replaces my t-stat free and apologizes for the inconvenience. (Gee my Taurus lasted 10 years and 162,000 miles and I only redid a tranny at 126,000). Chrysler also claims my rocker arms and bushings are bad suddenly on my front end. I did not even get an estimate. I took it back to the body shop and they said it could have been from the accident and had the insurance cover it. The insurance picked up the other diagnostic fee for the rocker arms of $40 plus the repair. What truly floored me from the dealer to Chrysler's National help line is that they truly think it is A) OK for a car to have $1000+ in general repairs at 56,000 miles and B) Have the nerve to tell me that ALL cars have problems like this at low mileage! My car comes back from the body shop tomorrow and it is going straight to trade to a FORD! After my 40,000 miles my AC rarely stinks. PS my PT also came from the Brandon area
.

-CA
PT Cruiser Year 2001
PT Cruiser Model Limited Edition

First thing I noticed was a "ding" sound when I stepped on the brake.
Wasn't sure what it was. It turned out to be the oil light coming on.

This was at about 3k miles. I thought maybe the factory hadn't filled it
completely or it was part of the normal break-in. I added more to fill it back up. In 2k more miles, the light was coming back on. I took it to the dealership and they added oil and a dye marker to see if it was a leak. After 1,000 miles, I took it back and they said no leak but there was an excessive oil consumption. They did the re-fill and another 1,000-mile oil-consumption test and said if it consumed the same amount of oil in this test, they would need to do a re-build or replace the engine.

When I took it back for the results of this second consumption test, their story had changed completely.

Now it was "normal" to burn a quart in 1,000 miles.
I tried to complain to Chrysler and got a stone wall lack of response.

A year later, a new Chrysler dealership opened in our area and I had them check on the problem. They agreed to re=do the consumption test a third time and found it was excessive.

A ring job did not fix the problem and I was back after a month to have the engine mostly replaced. Since this last repair, I have not had any more problems.

-BB
PT Cruiser Year 2002
PT Cruiser Model Limited Edition

I had an identical problem with my 2002 Limited, here in Orlando, from Courtesy Chrysler. It consumed about a Qt every 1000 miles. I also pinged at shift points. I filed for Lemon Law right away and CHRYSLER, not the dealer, replaced my vehicle.
YOU MUST PLAY HARDBALL!!!! They will not waiver until you push them to the edge. Seems like to me Ferman has bent/broken the law here. I would try to plead my case with the Lemon Law Board to see if they can help you retain a new vehicle.
In my opinion, a new engine, fully assembled from the factory would solve the problem. But I see the ineptness of the Chrysler folks to try to save money by just swapping parts. If you can talk them into a new engine, it might be the quickest way out. Hope this helps, and best of luck.

-AW
PT Cruiser Year 2003
PT Cruiser Model Touring Edition

Mildew/mold smell coming from vents.
-MG
PT Cruiser Year 2002
PT Cruiser Model Dream Cruiser

I too have become frustrated and wonder what can a person do. I purchased my car with 100 or so miles on it and just like the book said I changed the oil on schedule. The first time I took it in to a garage they said it was 1/2 quart low. The second time I went somewhere else . Same thing! 1/3 quart low. The third time we did the oil change ourselves to see what was going on and low and behold my A/C developed and AWFUL odor so I took the car to the dealership they disinfected that and since it was time I had them do an oil change. He said I was low 1/3 qt. HE also said he had never heard of a PT Cruiser that burned oil and it wasn't leaking and he indicated it was my fault because I didn't bring it there and who ever was filling it wasn't topping it off to the correct level. I laughed. I went to THREE different places and have the same outcome? This is heading somewhere I am sure but I am documenting all and plan for a fight if something goes wrong. As you know its hard to get cooperation. I do believe if the mold were to be evaluated that is growing in these A/C systems that would prove to be informational as well. After extensive research this appears to be a growing problem yet fairly new so they scramble not knowing how to correct it or answer questions. If you can add any light to the oil consumption issue please feel free to e-mail me. Information is vital I believe.

Thanks,
-TW
PT Cruiser Year 2001
PT Cruiser Model Limited Edition

One Day I turned off the key and the engine kept running. I could not shift out of park. I finally turned the fan on and that killed the engine. It then ran OK for one start and stop. The next stop not only did the engine keep running, but all the idiot lights went bonkers with the speedometer needle fluctuating from 0-120 mph as the car sat parked, while the engine surged and sputtered alternately. This happened at the dealership with the service manager trying it. The mechanics say it works perfectly in the shop so they can't diagnose where the malfunction is. The third failure occurred a couple of shutdowns later when all the idiot lights and bell stayed on after shutting off and removing the key. I tried restarting and shutting down a couple of times and I tried the fan switch with the same result, then it locked up and would not start or move from park, and the dash lights stayed lit with the bell ringing. This time several employees from the dealership came and pushed the PT 4 blocks over to the garage. When they went to diagnose the problem later there was nothing wrong. I've been a week now without the car with no hope of them being able to diagnose and fix the problem. They run it, drive it, then shut it down, but when they go to diagnose it there is nothing wrong so they don't know what to replace or fix. They have not provided me any loaner car so I am stranded or at the mercy of friends. The car has only 26,000 miles.

-M
PT Cruiser Year 2001
PT Cruiser Model Limited Edition

I too have noticed the oil consumption problems that you speak about. I noticed this problem for the first time just months after my purchase that before my second oil change that the oil light came on. I also have noticed a musty A/C odor as well which isn't pleasant.

As far as the dealer telling me that the consumption was normal I too was disgusted. I do have faith in Daimler Chrysler but I would feel much better if they would act like a Daimler company and address this issue of oil consumption.

-SW
PT Cruiser Year 2001
PT Cruiser Model Limited Edition

We ordered our Cruiser in Mar 2000 and received her Sept 25, 2000. I love this car and have had no problems other than it uses a quart of oil every 1,000 miles, and has since the day it was new. Chrysler says it is acceptable, no new car should use any oil in my opinion. Currently at 44,000 miles and still smiling every mile.

-CM
 

Please fill out this form below to send me information about your
PT Cruiser oil consumption, A/C problems, or other serious issues.

PT Cruiser Service Problems

Copyright 2003 PtCruiserProblems.com. This website is NOT affiliated with DaimlerChrysler Corporation or any DaimlerChrysler affiliates. All trademarks and logos are registered trademarks of their respectful owners. This website is not intended in anyway to slander this manufacture or dealer because the truth does not constitute slander. As consumers we are entitled to reasonable freedom of speech and personal opinion in regards to negative experiences with this manufacture and dealer. We appreciate your support!